Christmas Past

TW: Trigger warning: Anxiety, suicidal/homicidal thoughts.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

 

This time of year nearly sends me over the edge. It’s not the season, per se. I don’t suppose it is for most of us who suffer anxiety, shame, guilt, grief, pain surrounding the holidays. There’s way more to it than that. It’s not even the materialism of the season. It’s those deep down memories, whether they be happy or sad that creep in and consume our very existence.

For some, it’s the fact that we’ve lost loved ones and can hardly bare to be reminded of their passing; barely contain the thought they’re no longer here to share such a festive time of year with us. That carries its own pain and sense of grief.

In my case, there are constant intruding thoughts that pound my brain and I can’t escape them. In the distant past I went to alcohol to numb them. I don’t take that route anymore. Now, I still have thoughts of homicide and suicide this time of year. I should express them and will when I go to group on Monday and then again on Tuesday when I see my therapist. You have to be careful how you relay these feelings of terror or you might wind up on the psyche unit. It’s the worst time of year for that, as anyone who’s spent time in the hospital over the holidays knows.

There was not much love in my house growing up. My sister and I fought constantly in what’s referred to as the trickle-down effect. Our father, a miserable bastard, treated our mother like shit; she hated me and I beat my only sibling, my sister, up. Believe the family dog paid his dues too. Two days ago, B, little sis, and I got together and it wasn’t pretty. It was supposed to be, we both thought. It’s the second time she’s reached out to meet me alone and I think I know why we don’t do it more often. We wound up ‘reminiscing’ about our fucked up childhood(s).

The most instrumental observation we shared was we never saw any expression of love or endearment shared between our parents. Not a kiss on the cheek or a hug; no holding hands or an ‘I love you’ ever seen or heard. My therapist claims that means we were raised without love. I’m thinking she’s right.

So, I have trouble with trust, intimacy, and a slew of problems most of my trans brothers and psychiatric patient friends share. Christmas night, 1973, I was hauled off in an ambulance to the nearest hospital. There were no local units for people freaking out then. It turned out to be a panic attack. There wasn’t much known about them back then, either.

My father got drunk, threatened to kill us all with his deer hunting rifle and my mother insisted she would take B and I to a motel to get away from him. When I swore I wasn’t going ANYWHERE with her I ran to a friend’s house to stay overnight to get away from my idiot parents and that night my friend’s father made me give him a blow job downstairs while his wife and my friend were upstairs watching T.V. Merry Christmas, Sam.

Believe in God; don’t believe. Something’s kept me going all these years. I thank God for my partner, G, non-biological family members, friends, therapies, etc. Without you I literally would not be here. For anyone having difficulty during this time of year, I reach out to you and I’m a hugger. I am sending you virtual hugs. You know I believe in angels and miracles and I’m shooting up a prayer for each and every one of you. For my trans brothers and sisters, I send you the best because I’ve saved the best for last.

 

 

About sam davies

I love to write. I have a wonderful partner, G, of 16 years and a kitty named Mango. Only recently reclaimed my transgender Self. All my life I felt like a boy but didn't have a name for what it was I felt. As I travel this journey, I hope to meet others along the way who walk a more different path from the rest.
This entry was posted in Homocide, Panic Attacks, Suicide, Trigger Warning and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Christmas Past

  1. The butch says:

    I’m so sorry for the hard, horrible things you went through. Yes, this time of year is difficult.

    Like

    • sam davies says:

      Thank you. Should I call you B&B for butchandbrat? Ha! My life is so on key now, yet there still are struggles. Sometimes our difficulties, united and spoken of, melt a bit each time we air them. Thank you, as well, for following my blog!

      Like

  2. Sherry says:

    I’m so sorry that it’s been such a difficult journey for you. I hope and pray that you keep looking forward and embrace the love wherever you find it. You deserve to be happy.

    Like

    • sam davies says:

      Thank you, Sherry. I’ve been extremely fortunate to have folks in my life who are caring, loving and kind. I’ve sought some and others have appeared miraculously. In my addiction there was no Higher Power to speak of and it took decades to learn self-love. When you are damaged it is difficult, if not impossible at times, to feel any genuine sense of self worth. You, the image I now have, and many others are the true reason for my happiness. I am a grateful and blessed person these days.

      Like

  3. Fredrication says:

    I realise I come with a privileged background in many ways, unlike many of my trans brothers, sisters and others. Still it’s hard to overcome the hardships I’ve gone through. But by continuously putting one foot in front of the other I imagine I will wake up one day in a nice place far away from that. I’m just conscious about making every step in a better direction.

    Like

Leave a Reply

